no fuel mileage

fixerman519

I am new to the v-max 750 , run a 800 a few years ago and do not remember it being this hard on fuel , I went through the carbs , clutches , every thing is clean and STOCK as far as I can tell , I put on 500 kms yesterday ( with rx1's and F-7 's ) had no trouble staying with them ( on smooth sections ) but could not get more than 120 kms ( 65-70 miles ) and I was on fumes ?? is this normal mpg, if so what mods can be done ( on a budget ) to help with "the thirst " , absolutley love the sled just my buddies are getting pissed stopping for fuel so much ( sled has just turned to 4000 kms ) , thanks for the help

Welcome to the site fixerman519! Tell your buddies that you have a muscle sled and it takes serious quantities of fuel to feed these bad boys. The tank is not all that large either resulting in more fuel stops per trip vs the average sled. BUT, the awesome acceleration is priceless.....much better than the F7...at about 50 miles I am looking for a gas station..

It does piss them off to be passed at the top end by a 15 year old sled , so it is not only me looking for fuel quite often . I actually use the same litre/km or less than the F7's and 8's sometimes less , but I dont hold near enough on board.Thought about making a backpack out of a 5 gallon jerry can but figured I didnt need anymore weight ! , do they make rear suspension springs for guys around the 250 mark ?

55-65 busting powder and 80-90 mpg on the trails,
I gave up watching my fuel gauge a long time ago and now reset my trip-meter and go by mileage.

Would different clutch set ups help , always revs around 8000 rpm no matter what speed I am at , If I "baby it " ( keep it under 130 kph ) it is actually harder on fuel ?, would gearing it help any ?

Yea, you might be on to something there, it seems like mine is around 6K most of the time. Clutching off or worn belt maybe??